Twitter for a week

So I finally joined twitter and boy did I.

My experiences with social media has been …. hmm …. lets say interesting but it has always ended the same way, in misery. Yes people, I am a recovering facebook user and I have been “user free” for about two years now. Because of my previous negative experiences and addictive personality the idea of joining twitter was scary.

The  adrenaline was pumping through my veins (ok a bit dramatic but I was excited) as I downloaded the app on my blackberry.

I took me a while to really understand the guidelines for twitter and how to use it but I got the hang of it slowly, and then the frenzy started. I found myself being on it all the time, checking new tweets or trying to find new people, I can see that it is actually a really good resource for information. I found plenty of interesting people to follow on twitter and through them found even more interesting people to follow.

I think the whole experience brought me away from the actual reason I was on there which was, comm 306 and strategic communication. However, I am a person who enjoy hearing about opinions, thoughts and values which is communication. I have observed how some celebrities use twitter to promote their new music, literature or art. Some use this as a tool to connect with fans or some people just use it to speak their mind and spread some innovative thoughts.  I like the idea of the limited amount of characters because it makes people think and really put something up there worth saying.

I however spent most of my time tweeting simple things. I guess my more profound and great knowledge will come later as I have more to say. Overall my experience on twitter has been interesting, fun and addictive. I see myself definitely staying on twitter and becoming an adamant tweeter  🙂

http://twitter.com/#!/brittanihunter/status/43368868974039040

http://twitter.com/#!/TessHYO/status/42302181084364800

Leave a comment